Change? What the flux!

change-fluxMoving on from my last post where I identified some big issues from my past that were, not only holding me back but, affecting my decision making, thoughts, and aspirations in my present. This week I’m trying to focus on change; the changes I need to make within myself and my environment to move forward and how to rethink my view of personal change.

I’m sharing this because I think it’s an issue that affects us all in some way whatever our end goals might be. We all have hang-ups, baggage of some sort weighing us down. Who needs that! For me it is to complete my book series, to be a better writer, mother, but mostly to be happy – and I mean happy so it comes easy to me rather than a hard slog!

During my research I found a TED talk by Harvard Psychologist Daniel Gilbert where he explains our view of ourselves and our perception of change.

“We only appreciate change in retrospect. The present is a magical time – a watershed. The moment when we become ourselves.”  

Daniel Gilbert

We can be unhappy with ourselves and blame our history with promises of change for our current selves – our current selves being in need of change for future happiness. See what’s happening? Ever feel like you’re chasing your own tail? Welcome to the club. It seems I need to make the current ‘me’ happy to have a happy future me.

“Human beings are works in progress that mistakenly think they’re finished. The person you are right now is as transient, as fleeting and as temporary as all the people you’re ever been. The one constant in our lives is change.”

DANIEL GILBERT

Ten years ago a friend told me to write a letter to myself outlining what I expected of my life 10 years on – treasure! After watching this TED talk I will hunt out that little letter to myself and give it a good read. This is what it covered:

  • Describe your life 10 years ago
  • Describe your life now
  • Describe your life in 10 years time

I intend to repeat this exercise for 2014 as a personal project and also a writing exercise. I’d recommend it, give it a try? Make sure you write it longhand though – pencil or ink – trust me, it will make it more special (your future self will thank you for it). Again, I will put the letter away (and mislay it again no doubt!) When I find the letter in 2024 I’ll write the next one.

“Ease of remembering V the difficulty of imagining – Most of us can remember who we were 10 years ago but we find it hard to imagine who we’re going to be. Then, we mistakenly think that, because it’s hard to imagine, it’s not likely to happen. When people say, “I can’t imagine that.” They are usually talking about their own lack of imagination and not about the unlikelyhood of the event they are describing.”

DANIEL GILBERT

We change. We are who we are today because of how we feel today. Past experiences can hold us back but only if we let them. Change doesn’t have to be a steady build or erosion, action v reaction. We are in a constant state of flux – our lives, bodies, environment etc. We can only move forward. We can be masters of our own change, we just have to give ourselves permission and let our imaginations lead the way.

Image : View from Noroton Bay, Connecticut. the ever changing, beautiful sky. I normally crop my images tightly but this one needed to be seen in full.

One thought on “Change? What the flux!

  1. Pingback: Space and Time | ihijinx

What do you think? Please Leave a Reply

