How do I find time to write and blog while running a household?

Time, time travel, theory of time, albert einstein, time lord

This is the question I’ve been asked the most since I started my blog. My husband and I are both fully committed to his business and, as a result, we both work very long hours in our respective roles. He’s not a workaholic but his job is intense. On a normal working day he will leave at 7.30am and be home by 7pm (usually in time to kiss the children goodnight, but not always). Then there are overnighters and trips abroad. For all intents and purposes, I’m a single parent from Monday to Friday.

It’s a relevant question and applies to all ‘wannabe writers’ – not just me.

The answer is simple, I have to write – I would go potty if I didn’t. I’m a creative person and, because I’m unable to pursue my career as a designer, I found a gaping hole at my core. The creative hole is a part of my life which I need to address and fulfill – NEED.

The logistics are a little more complicated. When I get time to write, I make the most of it. It’s a rare thing so I savor it – usually a couple of hours in the day before school pick up, two or three days per week. Very often, I’ll tinker with ideas for blog posts on my ipad in the evening (I leave narrative for the day or I’d never sleep!).

I make time for writing like its my job. In most households, mothers take on a lot of guilt (I’ve got mine on!) for all sorts of things. I took a little control and cut myself some slack. Initially, it felt very indulgent but I’m now seeing the benefits. This blog is now my warm up exercise for the book and it’s working. I’m producing my 500 words per day with greater ease.

I got a real buzz out of working for myself; concentrating till my head swam and I reached a heady creative haze of productivity; the satisfaction of meeting a deadline; producing work I was happy with and proud to put my name to. I get the same buzz now from writing. It’s addictive. I just have to make sure I get the other areas of life clear to give me the space to write. The more I do it the more I believe I can produce something worthwhile.

IMAGES: Dr Who the Time Lord, the six dimensional time clock, Albert Einstein above a visual representation of his general theory of relativity and finally, Salvador Dali: a melting watch from The persistence of memory – the melting watches represent time being flowing and eternal.

4 thoughts on “How do I find time to write and blog while running a household?

  1. Goodness – SO identify with this being a mum, writer and home educator too! Had to be mega crafty/disciplined – and sometimes frustrated – to satisfy that need to write you describe. But somehow managed it, says she two books later!
    I bet you’ll get there too. Good luck!

  2. Pingback: iHijinx – Mumsnet Blog of the Day! « ihijinx

  3. Pingback: How do I find writing time during the day? | Kayla Hunt

What do you think? Please Leave a Reply

