Yippee-ki-yay mother, it’s clobberin’ time!

yippeekaiClobberThere is an ugly battle going on in my house. Two warring states defined by their opposition. Household loyalties are split and my children have turned into double agents. I am ashamed to admit that I too have succumbed once or twice to the… other side! The battle continues and I must steel myself to do what is right. Yes, ladies and gents my house is descending into the chaos of that old domestic foe – MESS.

Currently the battle is being fought in the bedrooms. Defences are weak but dusters and little boxes from Ikea have been deployed. The children’s playroom, spare room and garage are lost. I have heaps and piles of horror littering these areas threatening to infiltrate the rest of the house. Time is not on my side.

I need to free myself from they tyranny of clutter. It weighs me down – physically and emotionally. I’ve tried tackling this job a little at a time but it’s like sweeping leaves in the wind. When the task is complete I will feel more ordered and in control of my environment – I’ll have won a psychological battle. I will be liberated!

I have three rooms in my home in need of attention but I also have to apply the same de-cluttering principle on my files, notes and research for the book. My timeline is looking pretty scrappy. I need to make a clean copy without sticky notes and pen scribblings on it. Whether physical pieces of paper, files on my hard-drive, web bookmarks etc. I need order. I have a book to write, a household to run and a husband who needs (his word) me to apply my creative genius (ok, that one’s mine) to various projects at work. So, after a long inner struggle (where I moaned and ranted at friends/anyone who would listen) and an external struggle (where I vented in the ether at you guys) I am a designer once more.

One or two days per week might not seem like much but it’s killed my writing time and that makes me feel really sad. I need to work up a writing schedule for this new situation to stop myself falling back into the horrid place where I began. I miss my 500 words – I was doing well until Easter at which point my word count dropped from 2500 to 500 per week. I’ve even been two weeks without a blog post! such are the horrors of battle ;)

So, just as I thought I was finding a balance with all my jobs and roles, I feel like I’m back to square one. What can I do? As Shakespeare once said,

Once more unto the breach, dear friends, once more, Or close the wall up with our StarWars Lego! …Imitate the action of the tiger: Stiffen the sinews, summon up the blood, brew the coffee and have at it!

Well, something like that.

4 thoughts on “Yippee-ki-yay mother, it’s clobberin’ time!

What do you think? Please Leave a Reply

