My heart, all of a patter and a pitter…

I set up this blog to empty my head. The hope was to deal with life and the mountain of related musings, stress and worries by chucking it out at you – dear readers. Better out than in! etc. I could purge myself of mind clogging issues and share them. The advice and feedback have been incredibly helpful and insightful – though most are unpublished.

It’s been such a long time since my last post that I thought it was time for a minor update – very minor. There is no picture to go with this blog… yet, I’m not sure how I feel about a ‘no picture’ situation, am I leaving the house without my phone? If it feels too much like I’ve forgotten a child I’ll stick one in, appropriate and relevant to this blurb of course!

The story is nearly finished. Nearly. (It’s been ‘nearly’ for a while now). I’m at the end section of the story arc but realised there are a couple of holes that need filling and – like peeling paint – I couldn’t leave them alone. I’ve been away from the blog because I’ve been writing the book! (I get two days per week for writing – sometimes more, sometimes less. My time is more easily sacrificed…)

The word count is massive. Big. Too big. It has been remarked that I might have material that could go into the second book. The rather clever and insightful (Mez Packer) made that suggestion without reading a word. She’s spot on. I’m unravelling the end section after moving two major events and the story will be better for it. The two blocks of information will now go into book two which will add a little more suspense to book one without affecting the storyline. Feels good.

I’m sitting in my little studio trying to get back into the swing of the book after a four week break. No nightmares this time but there is definitely an itch that needs scratching. Time, as usual, is against me. The children’s summer holidays are looming – I have a month. Wonder if I can finish in that time?

Maybe.

I’ve set myself deadlines before and run way WAY past them. So, no promises but the end is near. I’ll be finished when I’ve written the story I would want to read and I’m excited to be in this position. It’s been a tough old road but I’m not at the end yet. When I look back at where I’ve been and then forward to where I want to be, I know that the only person who can get me there is me.

“Go back?” he thought. “No good at all! Go sideways? Impossible! Go forward? Only thing to do! On we go!” So up he got, and trotted along with his little sword held in front of him and one hand feeling the wall, and his heart all of a patter and a pitter.” 

J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit

I thought about lots of images but I’m starving and my tummy won’t allow my brain to engage in thoughts of a non food nature. My imagined road is lined with a rather delicious looking avocado and king prawn salad… See!

1 thought on “My heart, all of a patter and a pitter…

What do you think? Please Leave a Reply